Coaches in the Swim Speed Secrets program are certified to teach the critical elements related to propulsive swimming. At just over 5' 2", Sheila Taormina refined her freestyle technique to win a swimming gold medal at the 1996 Olympics and the 2004 ITU triathlon world championship. She believes elite skills can be learned if taught properly by dedicated, educated coaches.

Coaches certified in Swim Speed Secrets fundamentals understand and coach the following:

   Details of the propulsive underwater pull

   Correct freestyle stroke timing – where in the stroke cycle the arms pass by each other

   Overwater recovery phase of the stroke

   Core movement, rotation, and balance

   Kicking technique + 6-beat kick timing to maximize the kick’s propulsive effectiveness in the stroke

   How to gather and utilize stroke data as a coaching tool

   Hand Speed Change

   Correct Halo tubing technique

 

NEW IN 2018!  STARTING ON JANUARY 1, 2018 TWO COACHES PER STATE WILL BE TRAINED AND LICENSED TO ANALYZE STROKES WITH THE STGRID. PLEASE CONTINUE TO CHECK THIS PAGE AS COACHES ARE ADDED.

 

Swim Speed Secrets certified coaches (this list is separate from the soon-to-be-released STGRID list):

 Ali Meeks, Decatur, AL trainer.ali.meeks@gmail.com

Debbie Kassekert, Philadelphia/Cherry Hill, NJ dkassekert@verizon.net

Masumi Yoneyama, Chicago, IL yonefue@gmail.com

Sami Winter, Wilmington, NC samiwinter93@gmail.com

Sydney Didier, Amherst, MA swimcrest@gmail.comwww.swimcrest.com

Angela Smith, LaCrosse, WI trianglsmith@gmail.com

Sam Sampere, Syracuse, NY  smsamper@syr.edu

Christine Shirtzinger, St. Charles/Chicago, IL  christine@t2coaching.net

Kathy Coffin-Sheard, Traverse City, MI   kcoffinsheard@gmail.com

Pascale Butcher and Jason Mager, Westport/Norwalk, CT   www.trifitness.net   pascale@trifitness.net

Bob Seebohar and eNRG staff, Littleton, CO bob@enrgperformance.com

Lynne Anklam and the Oak Park Tri coaching staff, Mason, Michigan (Craig Tait, Chris Sharrock, Michelle Snitgen) tricoachlynne@gmail.com

Amy Hinkle and Sarah Goad, Court One Triathlon Club, Okemos, MI hinkle.amy@courtone.com  

Rebecca Ceru, Greater Lansing TRI Coaching, Lansing, MI usatcoachrebecca@gmail.com

Doug Levens, Cheshire, CT

Kimberly Baba, Bellevue/Seattle, WA kimberlyb@proclub.com